The Erasmus+ Program of the European Union

In January 2014, the EU launched its new program Erasmus+ for Education, Training, Youth, and Sport with a budget of 14.8 billion euro. The new timeframe is 2014 to 2020.

You’ll find more information about Erasmus+ on the website of the European Commission.

The Erasmus+ programme supports students, lecturers, and university employees when they plan a stay abroad in one of the 32 eligible countries. These are, in alphabetical order: Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic , Turkey, Hungary and Cyprus, including the Azores, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Canary Islands, Madeira, Martinique and Réunion.

Currently, Monaco does not participate in the Erasmus+ Program.

Erasmus+ funds the following mobility measures:

  • Study Abroad for Students (SMS = Student Mobility Services)
  • Internships for Students (SMP = Student Mobility Placements)
  • Teaching Staff Mobility (STA)
  • Staff training (STT)

Mobility Programs

Erasmus+ gives students the opportunity to study in another European country with which Erasmus+ has an agreement, and broaden their social and cultural skills.

During their period abroad, students get to know the academic system of a foreign university and benefit from the teaching and learning methods here. After completing their first year, students can study abroad between two and twelve months at a foreign host institution. They can receive funding until completion of their doctorate.

The Student Mobility Studies program (SMS) offers students the following services:

  • Mobility grant to help cover the travel and subsistence costs (including insurance and visa costs) incurred in connection with their study abroad period (amount depends on the country in which the study abroad period takes place and the budget MBS gets from the DAAD)
  • Exemption from tuition fees at the host university
  • Assistance in the preparation of the study abroad period
  • Academic recognition of the studies abroad

A list of criteria for university selection and placement can be found here:
>> www.eu.daad.de/studierende

Erasmus+ also funds internships for students at a host institution in Europe (excluding EU institutions and institutions that are managing EU programs as well as national diplomatic representations of the home country of the student).

Students can gain work experience in an international environment. In addition, they can enhance core skills such as communication and cooperation, openness, and understanding about other cultures and markets. Students can get support for a voluntary or obligatory internship between (at least) two and (at most) twelve months.

The Student Mobility Program (SMP) offers students the following services:

  • Monthly grant from € 350/month to € 450/month (depending on the country in which the internship is done)
  • EU internship agreement between the university, company, and student
  • Assistance in the preparation of the stay abroad
  • Support during the internship by an advisor from the home university and a contact person within the company
  • Recognition of internship rendered abroad

A list of criteria for university selection and placement can be found here:
>>www.eu.daad.de/studierende

Erasmus+ promotes guest lecturers at European partner universities (STA1) that possess an Erasmus+ University Charter.

The objective of the guest lecturers' stay is to strengthen the European dimension of the host institution, broaden and enrich the range and content of their curriculum, and share their knowledge and expertise with those students who do not want or have the possibility to study abroad. Furthermore, the aim is to develop joint study programs between partner universities and exchange expertise and experience on pedagogical methods.

The minimum requirement for a teaching assignment is 8 teaching hours for stays of one week or less. Maximum duration for teaching assignments is two months. Teaching assignments of enterprise employees who are invited by German universities (STA2) may also be funded in order to strengthen the cooperation between universities and businesses.

The following persons can be promoted, for example in ST (STA STT):

  • Faculty that has a contractual relationship with the university
  • Honorary professors
  • Associate professors
  • Emeritus professors and retired teachers
  • Assistant professors
  • Company staff (Incoming)

The program offers the following services:

  • Reimbursement of travel expenses
  • Reimbursement of subsistence expenses up to an EU maximum amount tiered by target country

A list of criteria and details can be found on:
>> www.eu.daad.de/sta

Training and further education of university staff (teaching and administration) at European universities and foreign companies/institutions is a further supportive measure to internationalize higher education.

The stay abroad must be at least two days and last a maximum of two months.

The Mobility Training and Continuing Education Purposes (STT) program can support university staff from all areas, e.g.,

  • Faculties
  • Accounting
  • International Office
  • Public Relations
  • General and technical Administration
  • Library
  • Counseling
  • Technology & Transfer
  • Further Education/Training

A list of criteria and details can be found on:
>> www.eu.daad.de/stt

Higher education institutions that want to participate in Erasmus+ activities must adhere to the Erasmus University Charter. By establishing guidelines and fundamental principles, the Charter aims to guarantee the quality of the program.

The European Commission is responsible for the overall program implementation and awards the Erasmus University Charter (EUC), which proves that a college meets all prerequisites to successfully take part in the Erasmus program. The Charter of Munich Business School is valid until 2020 and may be renewed thereafter. The Erasmus ID code of the MBS is: D MÜNCHEN12.

Funding Conditions

Being an EU-citizen is not a prerequisite to participate in Erasmus+. Students have to be regularly enrolled at a German university and have to complete their entire study program there. Teachers and other employees must be employed at a German university to participate in the program.

Liability Clause

"This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. The responsibility for the content of this publication [information] reflects only the author's view. The Commission shall not be liable for the usage of the information contained therein."

International Mobility for Students With Special Needs

Students with special needs may receive a grant to cover additional costs after they have been selected for an Erasmus+ placement. This applies to all Erasmus+ mobility programs (study abroad, work experience, mobility for teaching purposes, and mobility for training).

 Contact us


Head of International Center

Elvira Stephenson-Soetewey

+49 (0)89 547678-11
international(at)munich-business-school.de

Das Erasmus+-Programm der Europäischen Union

Seit 1. Januar 2014 läuft das von der EU beschlossene Bildungsprogramm Erasmus+. Erasmus+ integriert während seiner Laufzeit von 2014-2020 die Bereiche Hochschulbildung, Erwachsenenbildung, Schulbildung, Jugend und Sport. Das Programm ist mit einem Budget in Höhe von rund 14,8 Mrd Euro ausgestattet.

Mehr Informationen zu Erasmus+ finden Sie auf der Webseite der Europäischen Kommission.

Durch Erasmus+ erhalten Studierende, Dozenten und Hochschulmitarbeiter bei Auslandsaufenthalten in 32 förderfähigen Ländern Unterstützung. Diese Länder sind in alphabetischer Reihenfolge: Belgien, Bulgarien, Dänemark, Deutschland, Estland, Finnland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Großbritannien, Irland, Island, Italien, Kroatien, Lettland, Liechtenstein, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malta, Niederlande, Norwegen, Österreich, Polen, Portugal, Rumänien, Schweden, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Tschechische Republik, Türkei, Ungarn und Zypern einschließlich der Regionen Azoren, franz. Guayana, Guadeloupe, Kanarische Inseln, Madeira, Martinique und Réunion.

Monaco nimmt momentan nicht an Erasmus+ teil.

Folgende Mobilitätsmaßnahmen werden an der MBS gefördert:

  • Auslandsstudium für Studierende (SMS)
  • Auslandspraktikum für Studierende (SMP)
  • Gastdozenturen (STA)
  • Mobilität von Personal (STT)

Mobilitätsprogramme

Studierende erhalten mit Erasmus+ die Möglichkeit, in einem anderen europäischen Land, mit dem ein Erasmus Abkommen besteht, zu studieren und ihre sozialen und kulturellen Kompetenzen zu erweitern.

Dabei lernen sie das akademische System einer ausländischen Hochschule kennen und profitieren von deren Lehr- und Lernmethoden. Nach Abschluss des ersten Studienjahres können Studierende für einen Studienaufenthalt zwischen drei und zwölf Monaten an einer ausländischen Gasthochschule bis einschließlich zur Promotion gefördert werden.

Das Programm bietet Studierenden folgende Leistungen:

  • Mobilitätszuschuss zu den auslandsbedingten Mehrkosten von mind. 150 €/Monat bis max. 250 €/Monat
  • Befreiung von Studiengebühren an der Gasthochschule
  • Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung des Auslandsaufenthaltes
  • Akademische Anerkennung der im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen

EIne Auflistung der Kriterien zu Vergabe und Auswahl der Hochschule finden Sie hier:
>> www.eu.daad.de/studierende

Erasmus+ fördert auch Praktika für Studierende in einer Gasteinrichtung im europäischen Ausland (ausgeschlossen sind EU-Institutionen bzw. Institutionen, die EU-Programme verwalten sowie diplomatische Vertretungen der Herkunftsländer der Studierenden).

Studierende können so Arbeitserfahrung in einem internationalen Umfeld sammeln. Darüber hinaus können sie ihre Schlüsselqualifikationen wie Kommunikations- und Kooperationsfähigkeit, Offenheit und Kenntnisse über andere Kulturen und Märkte erweitern.

Studierende können für ein Pflichtpraktikum oder auch ein freiwilliges Praktikum zwischen (mindestens) zwei und (höchstens) zwölf Monaten Förderung erhalten.

Das Student Mobility Programm (SMP) bietet Studierenden folgende Leistungen:

  • Monatlicher Zuschuss von mind. 350 €/Monat bis max. 450 €/Monat
  • EU-Praktikumsvertrag zwischen Hochschule, Unternehmen und Studierenden
  • Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung des Auslandsaufenthaltes
  • Begleitung während des Praktikums durch je einen Ansprechpartner in der Heimathochschule und im Unternehmen
  • Anerkennung der im Ausland erbrachten Leistungen

Eine Auflistung der Kriterien zu Vergabe und Auswahl der Hochschule finden Sie hier:
>>www.eu.daad.de/studierende

Erasmus+ fördert Gastdozenturen an europäischen Partnerhochschulen (STA1), die im Besitz einer Erasmus+-Universitätscharta sind.

Die Gastdozenten sollen durch ihren Aufenthalt die europäische Dimension der Gasthochschule stärken, deren Lehrangebot ergänzen und ihr Fachwissen jenen Studierenden vermitteln, die nicht im Ausland studieren können oder wollen. Dabei soll die Entwicklung von gemeinsamen Studienprogrammen der beiden Partnerhochschulen und der Austausch von Lehrinhalten und -methoden einbezogen werden.

Die Lehraufenthalte müssen mindestens acht Unterrichtsstunden in einer Woche oder einem kürzeren Zeitraum umfassen. Es sind allerdings auch längere Lehraufenthalt von bis zu zwei Monaten Dauer förderfähig.

Ebenfalls möglich ist die Förderung von Unterrichtsmaßnahmen von ausländischem Unternehmenspersonal an deutschen Hochschulen (STA2), um die Zusammenarbeit von Hochschulen und Wirtschaftsunternehmen zu stärken.

Folgender Personenkreis kann beispielsweise im Bereich ST (STA und STT) gefördert werden:

  • Dozenten, die in einem vertraglichen Verhältnis zur Hochschule stehen
  • Dozenten ohne Dotierung
  • Lehrbeauftragte mit Werkverträgen
  • Emeritierte Professoren und pensionierte Lehrende
  • Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter
  • Unternehmenspersonal (Incoming)

Das Programm bietet folgende Leistungen:

  • Erstattung von Fahrtkosten
  • Erstattung von Aufenthaltskosten bis zu einem nach Zielländern gestaffelten EU-Höchstsatz

Eine Auflistung der Kriterien und Details finden Sie auf:
>> www.eu.daad.de/sta

Als eine weitere unterstützende Maßnahme zur Internationalisierung der Hochschulen sind Fort- und Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen von Hochschulpersonal (Lehre und Verwaltung) an europäischen Hochschulen und an ausländischen Unternehmen/Einrichtungen möglich.

Die Dauer der Auslandsaufenthalte kann von zwei Tagen bis zu zwei Monaten gehen.

Mit dem Programm für Mobilität zu Fort- und Weiterbildungszwecken (STT) kann Hochschulpersonal aus allen Bereichen gefördert werden, Beispiele hierfür sind:

  • Allgemeine & technische Verwaltung
  • Bibliothek
  • Fachbereiche
  • Fakultäten
  • Finanzen
  • International Office
  • Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
  • Studierendenberatung
  • Technologie & Transfer
  • Weiterbildung

Eine Auflistung der Kriterien und Details finden Sie auf
>> www.eu.daad.de/stt

Die Erasmus Universitätscharta (EUC) wird von der EU-Kommission vergeben. Sie beweist, dass eine Hochschule alle Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme an Erasmus+ erfüllt. Die Charta der Munich Business School gilt bis 2020 und kann danach erneut beantragt werden. Der Erasmus ID Code der MBS lautet: D MÜNCHEN12.

Förderbedingungen

Alle Studierenden können am Erasmus+-Programm teilnehmen, sofern sie regulär an einer deutschen Hochschule immatrikuliert sind und ihr gesamtes Studium dort absolvieren. Es ist keine Voraussetzung, Bürger eines EU-Landes zu sein. Lehrende und sonstige Mitarbeiter müssen an einer deutschen Hochschule tätig sein, um am Programm teilnehmen zu können.

Haftungsklausel

"Dieses Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung [Mitteilung] trägt allein der Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben."

Mobilität mit Behinderung

Menschen mit Behinderung können einen Zuschuss für Mehrkosten im Rahmen eines Erasmus+-Aufenthalts erhalten. Dies gilt für alle Erasmus+-Mobilitätslinien (Studium, Praktika, Mobilität zu Unterrichtszwecken und Mobilität zu Fort- und Weiterbildungszwecken).

 Kontakt


Head of International Center &
Erasmus Program

Elvira Stephenson-Soetewey

+49 (0)89 547678-11
international(at)munich-business-school.de