Prof. Dr. Christian Schmidkonz
About Prof. Dr. Christian Schmidkonz
Christian Schmidkonz, Professor for Asian-Pacific Business Studies at Munich Business School, is Academic Program Director of the Master International Business study program. His academic focus is on Business in China and Entrepreneurship. After studying economics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich and graduation at the Mercator School of Management of the University Duisburg-Essen, Schmidkonz worked as senior consultant for the region of “Greater China”. Schmidkonz is a partner of the THINK!DESK China Research & Consulting and works as an analyst on topics around Taiwan.

5 Reasons Why Conscious Business Beats CSR

September 12, 2019

When companies plan to contribute to the greater good, they like to refer to their Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). When… They then point out that for them doing business is not just about increasing financial […]

Intuition as a Basis for Business Decisions

December 12, 2017

Thanks to digitization and globalization, it is becoming more and more important in today’s business world for decisions to be made quickly. However, although it was never easier to collect comprehensive data for a decision […]

The Three Faces of China’s Internet

November 2, 2016

Largely unnoticed by internet users outside of China, a highly dynamic Chinese Internet has formed in the “Middle Kingdom”. According to official figures, 710 million Chinese presently surf the internet – which is roughly one […]

Why There are no More Five Year Plans in China

May 27, 2016

The term “Five-Year Plan” is one of the best known buzz words referring to China’s economy. Its 13th and most recent version was adopted just a few weeks ago by the National People’s Congress. First […]

Why the Future Must Belong to “Conscious Business”

November 6, 2015

Presently, negative headlines are troubling two icons of Germany’s economy: Volkswagen deceived millions of its customers, thousands of employees and additional millions of people in the “Diesel affair”. The U.S. see public health endangered by […]

Happiness Among Chinese Students

August 14, 2015

As in previous years, Sichuan University in Chengdu hosted a two-week “University Immersion Program” for its students: At one of the China’s most distinct universities, about 150 professors from all over the world lectured and […]

Alibaba’s “Journey to the West”

August 18, 2014

The “Journey to the West” (西游记) by Wu Cheng’en belongs to China’s four classical novels. Every child in China knows the story written during the Ming Dynasty about the “Monkey King”, who sets out for […]

Prof. Dr. Christian Schmidkonz
Über Prof. Dr. Christian Schmidkonz
Christian Schmidkonz, Professor für Asian-Pacific Business Studies an der Munich Business School, ist Studiengangsleiter des Programms Master International Business. Seine Schwerpunktthemen liegen in den Bereichen Business in China und Entrepreneurship. Nach einem VWL-Studium an der LMU München und Promotion an der Mercator School of Management der Universität Duisburg-Essen war Schmidkonz als Senior Consultant für die Region „Greater China“ tätig. Schmidkonz ist Partner der THINK!DESK China Research & Consulting und arbeitet als Analyst zu den Themen rund um Taiwan.

Intuition als Grundlage für Geschäftsentscheidungen

Dezember 12, 2017

Dank Digitalisierung und Globalisierung wird es in der heutigen Geschäftswelt als immer wichtiger angesehen, schnelle Entscheidungen zu treffen. Doch obwohl es nie einfacher war, sich mit umfassenden Informationen für eine Entscheidung zu versorgen, gibt es […]

Das Glückspotenzial chinesischer Arbeitnehmer in deutschen Unternehmen in China

August 16, 2017

Eine Studie zum Verständnis chinesischer Glücksvorstellungen China ist nach wie vor einer der wichtigsten Handelspartner für Deutschland. Für deutsche Unternehmen sind Zweitniederlassungen und Tochtergesellschaften im Land der Mitte ein elementarer Teil der Wettbewerbsstrategie geworden. Eine […]

Die drei Gesichter des Internets in China

November 2, 2016

Weitestgehend unbeobachtet von Internetnutzern außerhalb Chinas hat sich im „Reich der Mitte“ hochdynamisch ein chinesisches Internet gebildet. Nach offiziellen Angaben surfen heute 710 Millionen Chinesen im Internet – also rund die Hälfte der gesamten Bevölkerung […]

Warum es in China keine Fünfjahrespläne mehr gibt

Mai 27, 2016

Zu den bekanntesten ökonomischen Schlagworten im Zusammenhang mit China zählt der “Fünfjahresplan”. Erst vor wenigen Wochen wurde die 13. und jüngste Version vom Nationalen Volkskongress verabschiedet. Sie war erstmals im Oktober 2015 auf der 5. […]

Warum „Conscious Business“ die Zukunft gehören muss

November 6, 2015

Zuerst Beispiele für Un-Conscious Business: zwei Ikonen der deutschen Wirtschaft kommen im Augenblick nicht aus den Schlagzeilen heraus: Volkswagen hat Millionen seiner Kunden, Tausende seiner Mitarbeiter und weitere Millionen von Mitmenschen in der „Dieselaffäre“ betrogen. […]

Das Glück chinesischer Studenten

August 14, 2015

Auch in diesem Jahr organisierte die Sichuan University in Chengdu wieder ein „University Immersion Program“ für ihre Studierenden: Rund 150 Professoren aus aller Welt unterrichteten zwei Wochen lang tausende chinesische und auch einige internationale Studierende […]

Konsum allein macht nicht glücklich – auch nicht in China

Oktober 24, 2014

Wenn sich Chinesen für einen Fernsehabend Cola und eine Tüte Chips kaufen, dann kaufen sie Glück: Coca Cola nennt sich in China „可口可乐“ (kekou kele), was direkt übersetzt so viel heißt wie „schmeckt gut und […]

Alibabas „Reise nach dem Westen“

August 18, 2014

Die „Reise nach dem Westen“ (西游记) von Wu Cheng’en gehört zu den vier klassischen Romanen Chinas. Die während der Ming Dynastie verfasste Geschichte über den „König der Affen“, der sich zusammen mit einem Mönch in […]